Addendum

Posted on January 9, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’ve been thinking about my most recent blog update. In the past, I’ve been criticized for being long-winded and writing in run-on sentences. It is true, I fear, and so I sometime edit myself a bit too much. In my opinion, my most recent blog update was getting too long. I curtailed it and felt it left out some details about my interactions with JH. This omission has been bothering me. Shortly after ending her employment as my PCA, I learned that she had contacted some of my friends and family members in an attempt to discuss her concerns about me. This upset my wife Ruth because it was an invasion of our privacy. Although I don’t think any harm was really done and I knew that JH had some very evident mental problems, I was really hurt by her actions. I felt violated, but more than that, I felt dehumanized. It was as if she didn’t think I was capable of managing my own affairs.  Furthermore, she seemed to think that other people would take her concerns seriously and, presumably, they would not have confidence in my ability to manage my affairs either. I was also irritated that only one of my friends told me about this and I had to learn who JH contacted by asking around. I suspect that JH contacted my mother first before she notified me that she wanted to end her employment with me. While I do not necessarily approve of my mother’s management style, I was upset that she did not say anything to me. I would have confronted JH about this and terminated her immediately or as soon as I could make other arrangements. I think it is true that you can’t worry about “what ifs” and I am happy to say that everything has worked out. I feel that it was unfair of me not to mention this in my last post because this information completes the story.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

    About

    “The limits of the possible can only be defined by going beyond them into the impossible.” Arthur C. Clarke

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...